25th Anniversary Good Works Team Announced

Esteemed award celebrates a quarter-century of recognizing college athletes for their ‘good works’ and selfless acts

NORTHBROOK, Ill., September 15, 2016 – Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) today announced the 24 college football players and one honorary head coach named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, one of the most coveted off-the-field honors in college football. The Good Works Team® award is celebrating 25 years of recognizing college football players who dedicate their time to bettering the community and the lives of others.

This year, in recognition of the 25th anniversary, Allstate and the AFCA added three additional spots to the team, including an honorary head coach, bringing the final roster to 25 members. Amidst the rivalry, competitiveness and excitement of college football, the contributions made off the field by players and coaches can often times be overlooked. The players named to the Good Works Team® represent the sport's finest in terms of character and leadership, in addition to maintaining good academic standing. To help announce the landmark year of the Good Works Team®, Allstate and the AFCA have also teamed up with two-time national champion, Heisman Trophy winner and 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® member Tim Tebow.

“Allstate has taken great pride in working with the AFCA to recognize student-athletes who go above and beyond to make time for community service, whether they’re helping out at a local soup kitchen or going abroad on a mission trip,” said Thomas Clarkson, president of the west territory for Allstate Insurance Company and a member of the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. “These young men deserve to be commended for all that they do, and their character and commitment to service is an inspiration for all of us.” 

The following players and head coach have been named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision

NameClassPos. SchoolHometown
Deshaun Watson Jr. QB Clemson University Gainesville, Ga.
Derek McCartney Jr. LB University of Colorado-Boulder Westminster, Colo.
DeVon Edwards RSr. DB Duke University Covington, Ga.
Alec Eberle RSo. OL Florida State University Mechanicsville, Va.
Jeb Blazevich Jr. TE University of Georgia Charlotte, N.C.
KeShun Freeman Jr. DL Georgia Institute of Technology LaGrange, Ga.
Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea RSr. DL University of Hawaii Honolulu, O’ahu
Mike Caprara RSr. LB University of Pittsburgh Turtle Creek, Pa.
Caylin Moore Sr. DB TCU Carson, Calif.
Dane Evans RSr. QB University of Tulsa Sanger, Texas
Oren Burks RJr. LB Vanderbilt University Fairfax Station, Va.
Zach Terrell RSr. QB Western Michigan University Fort Wayne, Ind.

NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and NAIA

NameClassPos. SchoolHometown
Zach Bernhard RSr. LB Ashland University Ashland, Ohio
Drew Neuville Sr. TE Bethel University (Minn.) Green Bay, Wis.
Dan Gallman Sr. OL Carson-Newman University Naples, Fla.
Nate Casey Sr. LB Davidson College Tega Cay, S.C.
Michael Allen Sr. LB University of the Incarnate Word Garland, Texas
Luke Grooters Sr. LB Morningside College Rock Rapids, Iowa
Carl Jones RSr. OL North Carolina Central University Nashville, Tenn.
Corbin Jountti Jr. RB Northern Arizona University Bakersfield, Calif.
Zach Clark Sr. OL Oklahoma Baptist University Oklahoma City, Okla.
Kaymon Farmer Sr. WR Southeastern Oklahoma State University Pittsburg, Texas
Trent Brodbeck RSr. TE Wayne State University (Mich.) Toledo, Ohio
Brett Kasper Jr. QB University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Two Rivers, Wis.


Honorary Head Coach

 Mark Richt, University of Miami


“It is an honor to partner with Allstate in celebrating the 25th anniversary of the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team,” Todd Berry, AFCA Executive Director said. “Hundreds of talented and hard working student-athletes have been honored with this outstanding award, but the 25th anniversary team is special because we get to honor one of our own members, Coach Mark Richt from the University of Miami. His dedication to community service goes hand in hand for why this award was established in 1992. We congratulate him and the 24 student-athletes on this year’s team.”

Now that the team is announced, fans are encouraged to visit ESPN.com/Allstate to vote for the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain through November 23, 2016. The Team Captain will be honored at the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be invited to New Orleans to participate in a community project before the 2017 Allstate® Sugar Bowl®, where the team will be recognized at halftime. 

The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® was selected from a group of nominees who were submitted by sports information directors across the country. A voting panel of former Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members narrowed the impressive list of 165 players and 10 coaches down to the 25 members of the 2016 team. 

The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN) and Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA president and Ashland University head coach Lee Owens; 2001 AFCA president and current athletic director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor; and Thomas Clarkson, president of the west territory for Allstate Insurance Company.

About Allstate

The Allstate Corporation (NYSE: ALL) is the nation’s largest publicly held personal lines insurer, protecting approximately 16 million households from life’s uncertainties through auto, home, life and other insurance offered through its Allstate, Esurance, Encompass and Answer Financial brand names. Now celebrating its 85th anniversary as an insurer, Allstate is widely known through the slogan “You’re In Good Hands With Allstate®.” The Allstate brand’s network of small businesses offers auto, home, life and retirement products and services to customers in the United States and Canada. In 2015, The Allstate Foundation, Allstate, its employees and agency owners gave $36 million to support local communities. Allstate employees and agency owners donated 230,000 hours of service across the country.

About the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® 

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams® were established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field.  AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need.  Allstate worked to present the award starting with the 2008 season. The SEC leads all conferences with 67 selections to the Good Works Team since it began in 1992. The SEC is followed by the Big 12 Conference with 48 selections and the Atlantic Coast Conference with 37 selections. Georgia is in first place with 17 honorees to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. The Bulldogs are followed by Nebraska with 14 honorees. Super Bowl XLII, XLVI and XLI champion quarterbacks Eli and Peyton Manning were members of the 2002 and 1997 Good Works Teams®, respectively.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!