ESU's Terwilliger to Receive Oustanding Achievement Award

East Stroudsburg University assistant coach Mike Terwilliger is this year’s recipient of the AFCA Outstanding Achievement Award. The AFCA Board of Trustees created the Outstanding Achievement Award in order to recognize AFCA members, past and present, who have achieved outstanding success while coaching football.

“I am truly honored to receive the AFCA’s Outstanding Achievement Award,” Terwilliger said. “The game of football has been everything I could ask for and more. I’m very fortunate to coach this great game and it means the world to me that my coaching peers thought enough of me and my career as a coach to honor me with this great award. This is a tremendous honor and I am very humbled to receive it.”

Terwilliger graduated from East Stroudsburg University in 1978 where he was a four-year starter at quarterback. He earned his Masters Degree from Temple University in 1983. Terwilliger began his coaching career at ESU in 1978, where he has spent the last 38 seasons as an assistant coach. He has been the offensive coordinator since 2001 and has led a record-setting offense that has averaged at least 24 points per game for 15 straight seasons. ESU quarterbacks have ranked in the top three in the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) in total offense in every season since 2002.

Under Terwilliger’s coaching, ESU quarterbacks have been candidates for the Harlon Hill Award, the most outstanding player in Division II, in 11 of the last 22 years, the most in Division II. His son Jimmy took home the Harlon Hill Award in 2005 after setting 16 school and 18 NCAA records during his career.

Matt Soltes, ESU’s quarterback the last four years, is a Harlon Hill finalist and has been named the D2CCA Super Region 1 Offensive Player of the Year and PSAC East Offensive Player of the Year this fall. Soltes set five NCAA DII records and  finished his career ranked second in DII history in career total offense per game (351.0), breaking the PSAC record previously held by Jimmy Terwilliger.

After taking over as a starter early in his freshman year, Terwilliger guided the Warriors to a 30-4-1 record over four seasons and PSAC titles in 1975 and 1976. He earned First Team All-Conference honors twice and was also an Associated Press Little All-America honorable mention selection. He threw for 3,799 yards and 33 touchdowns in his playing career. He was inducted to the ESU Athletic Hall of Fame in 1994 as a player and a coach.

Terwilliger’s career has paralleled ESU head coach Denny Douds, who was named head coach prior to Terwilliger’s freshman season in 1974. Douds completed his 42nd season as head coach and 50th overall at ESU in 2015 and holds the PSAC record with 256 career wins. Terwilliger has played or coached in each victory. In 2006, Terwilliger was recognized by the American Football Coaches Association as the Division II Assistant Coach of the Year.

Terwilliger has coached three All-America quarterbacks - Jimmy Terwilliger (2004-06), Damian Poalucci (1996) and Andy Baranek (1984), who led the Warriors to the 1982 PSAC championship. All-Region selections are Matt Soltes (2013, 2015), Jimmy Terwilliger (2003-06), Poalucci (1996-97) and Baranek (1982). The Warriors have also had an All-PSAC quarterback in 19 of the 38 seasons that Terwilliger has been on staff since 1978.

Past Outstanding Achievement Award winners include: Tim Marcum, Tampa Bay Storm (2003); Joe Moore, University of Pittsburgh, Temple University, University of Notre Dame (2005); Homer Smith, Davidson College, Pacific University, U.S. Military Academy (2006); Ted Kempski, University of Delaware (2007); Ken Donahue, University of Alabama, University of Tennessee, University of Memphis, Mississippi State University (2008); Roland Christensen, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, Winona State University (2009); Bill Hickey, University of Notre Dame, Coast Guard Academy, Swarthmore College and Princeton University (2012); Joe Kines, Jacksonville State University, Clemson University, University of Florida, University of Alabama, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, University of Arkansas, University of Georgia, Florida State University, Texas A&M University (2013); and Woody McCorvey, University of South Carolina, University of Tennessee, University of Alabama, Mississippi State University, Clemson University (2014).

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!