Texas' William McRaven to Receive McLaughry Award

University of Texas System Chancellor William H. McRaven has been chosen as the 2016 recipient of the AFCA’s highest honor, the Tuss McLaughry Award. McRaven, who retired from the U.S. Navy last year as a four-star admiral, will receive the award at the AFCA’s Coach of the Year Dinner on January 12 at the 2016 AFCA Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

“I am honored to be recognized by the AFCA and particularly to receive an award that carries the name of a great American, Tuss McLaughry,” McRaven said. “Coaches and military officers have a lot in common. We lead by example. We shape young people and give them the tools they need to be their best. Now, as an educator, my focus is making sure The University of Texas System is producing our country’s next leaders. And some of our best lessons in leadership can be learned through team sports. I think coaches have one of the greatest jobs in the world because their responsibility is to build leaders.”

“Admiral McRaven is obviously a very special man, and from the standpoint of the American Football Coaches Association, he is eminently qualified to receive our highest award, the Tuss McLaughry Award,” said Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director. “This award is based on service to others and William McRaven has exemplified such service for many, many years.”

McRaven, the 11th Chancellor of the University of Texas System, was appointed to the post in January, 2015. As chancellor, McRaven serves as the chief executive officer of the University of Texas System, which includes 14 academic and health institutions across the state. Before taking his current position, McRaven had a long and storied Naval career, where he commanded at every level within the special operations community.

Besides numerous decorations for service to his country, including the Presidential Service Badge, the Bronze Star and the Defense Distinguished Service Medal, McRaven has amassed an array of other honors, including the Republic of France’s Legion d’Honneur, the National Defense University’s American Patriot Award, the Office of Strategic Services Society’s Donovan Award, the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association’s National Award, and the National Intelligence Award.  He was also named the USO’s Person of the Year in 2013 and was honored as a Distinguished Alumnus by the University of Texas in 2012.  Foreign Policy magazine listed McRaven as one of the Top 10 Foreign Policy Experts and Top 100 Global Thinkers in 2012.   

McRaven’s long and meritorious career in the Navy began in 1973 when he enrolled at the University of Texas at Austin on an ROTC scholarship. In addition to his ROTC duties and his full course load, McRaven also walked onto the track team where he competed in cross-country. After graduating and entering into full service with the Navy, McRaven went through Basic Underwater Demolition/SEALs (BUD/S) school to become a Navy SEAL and started down the path the he would follow until his retirement in 2014 with stints as platoon commander, squadron commander, task force commander and commodore. His final assignment was as Commander of U.S. Special Operations Command, during which time he led a force of 69,000 men and women with an annual budget of more than $10 billion.

The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to “maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession” and to “provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football.”

The Award
The Tuss McLaughry Award is given to a distinguished American (or Americans) for the highest distinction in service to others. It is named in honor of DeOrmond “Tuss” McLaughry, the first full-time secretary-treasurer of the AFCA and one of the most dedicated and influential members in the history of the Association. The award was established in 1964.

Tuss McLaughry
Tuss McLaughry began his coaching career at his alma mater, Westminster (Pa.) College in 1916. During his early days in coaching, McLaughry spent his spare time playing pro football with the Massillon (Ohio) Tigers. Knute Rockne was a teammate. He went on to become head coach at Amherst (1922-25), Brown (1926-40), and Dartmouth (1941-55). His most successful years were at Brown, where he had a 15-year record of 76-58-5. In 1926, McLaughry produced Brown’s only undefeated team. Two of his other teams at Brown had only one loss.

McLaughry retired from coaching in 1954, but continued in his capacity as chairman of the Physical Education Department at Dartmouth until 1960, when he accepted the appointment with the AFCA. He retired from that position in 1965.
McLaughry played a leading role in the development of the AFCA while at the same time establishing a reputation as a successful head coach at some of the most prestigious schools in the East. He worked diligently throughout his lifetime to advance the best interests of the football coaching profession.

Past Tuss McLaughry Award Winners
1964     Gen. Douglas MacArthur, armed forces
1965     Bob Hope, entertainer
1966     Lyndon B. Johnson, U.S. President
1967     Dwight D. Eisenhower, U.S. President
1968     J. Edgar Hoover, director, FBI
1969     The Reverend Billy Graham, evangelist
1970     Richard M. Nixon, U.S. President
1971     Edwin Aldrin, Neil Armstrong, Michael Collins, Apollo 11 astronauts
1974     John Wayne, actor
1975     Gerald R. Ford, U.S. President
1977     Gen. James A. Van Fleet, armed forces
1979     Jimmy Stewart, actor
1980     Lt. Gen. Jimmy Doolittle, armed forces
1981     Dr. Jerome Holland, educator, business executive
1982     Robert Crippen & John Young, astronauts
1983     Ronald Reagan, U.S. President
1985     Pete Rozelle, NFL Commissioner
1986     Gen. Pete Dawkins, armed forces
1987     Gen. Chuck Yeager, armed forces
1988     Lindsey Nelson, sportscaster
1989     George Shultz, U.S. Secretary of State
1990     Burt Reynolds, actor
1993    Tom Landry, Head Coach, Dallas Cowboys
1994    Charley Boswell, armed forces
1996    Eddie Robinson, Head Coach, Grambling St.
1998    George Bush, U.S. President
2001    Andrew Young, United Nations Ambassador
2002    Roger Staubach, businessman, NFL Hall of Famer
2003    Stephen Ambrose, Author and historian
2004    Gen. Tommy Franks, armed forces
2005    Dr. Christopher Kraft, NASA
2007    Paul Tagliabue, NFL Commissioner
2008    Tom Osborne, Head Coach, Nebraska
2009    Rudy Giuliani, former mayor, New York City
2010    Tony Dungy, Head Coach, Indianapolis Colts
2013    Robert Mueller, Director, FBI
2014    Jeffrey Immelt, CEO, General Electric

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!