Allstate and AFCA Name the 2014 Good Works Team®

Prestigious off-the-field honor recognizes college football players for their dedication to community service

NORTHBROOK, Ill., September 23, 2014 – Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) today announced the roster for the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. This prestigious college football award pays tribute to a select group of student-athletes who have worked to positively impact the lives of others. The 22 players honored with this distinct recognition have not only dedicated their time to succeeding on the field, but have made a commitment to enriching the lives of others while contributing to the greater good of their communities.

For more than two decades the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has been one of the most esteemed awards in college sports. This summer, the program received a record 182 nominations from colleges and universities across the country. A voting panel comprised of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and college football media reviewed the nominees in an effort to select 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA to comprise the 22-player team.

“Allstate takes an immense amount of pride in working with the AFCA to recognize these student-athletes for their good works that have made a positive impact on communities across the country and, in some cases, across the world,” said Jim Haskins, president of Allstate’s West Territory and a member of the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. “Allstate is a proud supporter of NCAA football and it is an honor to award these young men for inspiring us all with their character and work ethic both on and off the field.”

The following players have been selected to the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision

NameClassPos. SchoolHometown
Jeffrey Coprich So. RB University of California Watts, Calif.
Laken Tomlinson Sr. OL Duke University Chicago, Ill.
Chris Conley Sr. WR University of Georgia Dallas, Ga.
Max Godby Sr. OL University of Kentucky Louisville, Ky.
Deterrian Shackelford GS LB University of Mississippi Decatur, Ala.
Sam Rodgers Sr. LS Syracuse University State College, Pa.
Nate Boyer Sr. LS University of Texas Dublin, Calif.
Brett Hundley Jr. QB UCLA Chandler, Ariz.
Chuckie Keeton Sr. QB Utah State University Houston, Texas
Andrew East Sr. LS Vanderbilt University Indianapolis, Ind.
Dominic Rufran Sr. WR University of Wyoming Colorado Springs, Colo.

NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and NAIA

NameClassPos. SchoolHometown
Blake Padget Sr. OL Alma College Westland, Mich.
Chris Tamasi Sr. LB Amherst College Canton, Mass.
Joshua Perkins Sr. OL Bethel University Iowa Falls, Iowa
Dan Casey Sr. LB Davidson College Tega Cay, S.C.
Tyler Zeoli Sr. LB College of the Holy Cross King of Prussia, Pa.
Ward Udinski Sr. QB Juniata College Doylestown, Pa.
Spencer Knight Sr. RB Ouachita Baptist University Arkadelphia, Ark.
Zach Zenner Sr. RB South Dakota State University Eagan, Minn.
Phil Faccone Sr. LS Wagner College Brick, N.J.
Eric Mapoles Jr. LB Wingate University Snellville, Ga.
Ryan Gerts Sr. LB Winona State University Bloomingdale, Ill.

For the past 23 years, this award has recognized countless outstanding acts of service, and the accomplishments of this team are no exception. From creating non-profit organizations and programs to help those in need, to earning a Bronze Star from serving two tours of military duty in Iraq, these 22 players have done remarkable things in their communities and touched many people’s lives.

“The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has been highlighting student-athlete volunteerism for 23 years, and the list of honorees keeps getting better each year,” Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director said. “The 2014 Good Works Team® members are some of the most dedicated athletes, on and off the field, I have ever seen. It is the AFCA’s pleasure to work  with Allstate in promoting such great ambassadors of the game of football.”

Allstate and the AFCA are looking to the fans to help determine this year’s 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain. By visiting, fans can learn more about this year’s team members and vote for the player who they feel best embodies the spirit of the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. The Team Captain and his fellow award recipients will also be invited to New Orleans to take part in a community project leading up to the 2015 College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Allstate® Sugar Bowl®.

The 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Bruce Feldman (Fox Sports),  Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Ithaca College head coach Mike Welch; 1987 AFCA President and former head coach at Brigham Young University LaVell Edwards; and Jim Haskins, president of Allstate’s West Territory.

About Allstate

The Allstate Corporation (NYSE: ALL) is the nation’s largest publicly held personal lines insurer, protecting approximately 16 million households from life’s uncertainties through its Allstate, Encompass, Esurance and Answer Financial brand names and Allstate Financial business segment. Allstate is widely known through the slogan “You’re In Good Hands With Allstate®.” The Allstate brand’s network of small businesses offers auto, home, life and retirement products and services to customers in the United States and Canada. In 2013, The Allstate Foundation, Allstate, its employees and agency owners gave $29 million to support local communities. Allstate employees and agency owners donated 200,000 hours of service across the country.

About the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® 

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams® were established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field.  AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need.  Allstate worked to present the award starting with the 2008 season.

With Chris Conley’s selection in 2014, Georgia moves into first place with 15 honorees to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. The Bulldogs are followed by Nebraska at 14 and St. Thomas (Minn.) with 13 honorees.  The SEC leads all conferences with 62 selections to the Good Works Team® since it began in 1992. The SEC is followed by the Big 12 Conference with 42 selections and the Atlantic Coast Conference with 29 selections. Super Bowl XLII, XLVI and XLI champion quarterbacks Eli and Peyton Manning were members of the 2002 and 1997 Good Works Teams®, respectively.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!