Jeffrey Immelt to Receive 2014 Tuss McLaughry Award

General Electric (GE) CEO Jeffrey R. Immelt has been chosen as the 2014 recipient of the AFCA’s highest honor, the Tuss McLaughry Award. Immelt will receive the award at the AFCA’s Coach of the Year Dinner on January 14 at the 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana.
“I am a product of football and I owe a great debt of gratitude to that system,” Immelt said. “What I learned playing football enters my life every day.”
“Jeff Immelt is the consummate leader,” Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director said. “After becoming CEO of GE only four days before the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, Jeff clearly states that he used things that he had learned playing football to help him lead GE through those trying times. Jeff was the first recipient of the American Football Coaches Foundation’s CEO Coach of the Year Award. He has taught our profession much through his leadership. Because he cares about our game and the coaching profession, football coaches across America hold him in high esteem. Besides receiving an award named after a former coach at Dartmouth, Tuss McLaughry, Jeff will speak to 5,000 coaches on leadership during the AFCA Convention in Indianapolis.”

Mr. Immelt, the 9th Chairman in GE’s 130-plus-year history, was appointed to this post on September 7, 2001. He began his GE career in 1982 and served in a multitude of global leadership positions before rising to the top of the company, including positions at GE’s plastics, appliances and healthcare businesses. He became an officer at GE in 1989 and joined the GE Capital Board in 1997.
Mr. Immelt has been named one of the “World’s Greatest CEOs” by Barron’s three times. Since being named the chief executive officer, GE has been named “America’s Most Admired Company” in a poll conducted by Fortune Magazine and one of “The World’s Most Respected Companies” in polls by Barron’s and the Financial Times. He has also been named to Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in the world in 2009. 

Mr. Immelt serves as the director of Catalyst, which is devoted to advancing women in business, and the Robin Hood Foundation, which is focused on addressing poverty in New York City and served as the director of the New York Federal Reserve Bank from 2006 to 2011. Mr. Immelt was appointed the chair of President Obama’s Council on Jobs and Competitiveness in 2011 to advise the President on ways to revitalize the private sector and stimulate American jobs and growth. He received his B.A. in applied mathematics from Dartmouth College, where he currently serves on the Board of Trustees, in 1978 before getting his MBA from Harvard University in 1982.
In 2006, Mr. Immelt was named the inaugural recipient of the American Football Coaches’ Foundation CEO Coach of the Year Award. 

Mr. Immelt and his wife, Andrea, live in New Canaan, Connecticut and have one daughter, Sarah.

The Award
The Tuss McLaughry Award is given to a distinguished American (or Americans) for the highest distinction in service to others. It is named in honor of DeOrmond “Tuss” McLaughry, the first full-time secretary-treasurer of the AFCA and one of the most dedicated and influential members in the history of the Association. The award was established in 1964.

Tuss McLaughry
Tuss McLaughry began his coaching career at his alma mater, Westminster (Pa.) College in 1916. During his early days in coaching, McLaughry spent his spare time playing pro football with the Massillon (Ohio) Tigers. Knute Rockne was a teammate. He went on to become head coach at Amherst (1922-25), Brown (1926-40), and Dartmouth (1941-55). His most successful years were at Brown, where he had a 15-year record of 76-58-5. In 1926, McLaughry produced Brown’s only undefeated team. Two of his other teams at Brown had only one loss.

McLaughry retired from coaching in 1954, but continued in his capacity as chairman of the Physical Education Department at Dartmouth until 1960, when he accepted the appointment with the AFCA. He retired from that position in 1965. McLaughry played a leading role in the development of the AFCA while at the same time establishing a reputation as a successful head coach at some of the most prestigious schools in the East. He worked diligently throughout his lifetime to advance the best interests of the football coaching profession.

Past Tuss McLaughry Award Winners

1964     Gen. Douglas MacArthur, armed forces
1965     Bob Hope, entertainer
1966     Lyndon B. Johnson, U.S. President
1967     Dwight D. Eisenhower, U.S. President
1968     J. Edgar Hoover, director, FBI
1969     The Reverend Billy Graham, evangelist
1970     Richard M. Nixon, U.S. President
1971     Edwin Aldrin, Neil Armstrong, Michael Collins, Apollo 11 astronauts
1974     John Wayne, actor
1975     Gerald R. Ford, U.S. President
1977     Gen. James A. Van Fleet, armed forces
1979     Jimmy Stewart, actor
1980     Lt. Gen. Jimmy Doolittle, armed forces
1981     Dr. Jerome Holland, educator, business executive
1982     Robert Crippen & John Young, astronauts
1983     Ronald Reagan, U.S. President
1985     Pete Rozelle, NFL Commissioner
1986     Gen. Pete Dawkins, armed forces
1987     Gen. Chuck Yeager, armed forces
1988     Lindsey Nelson, sportscaster
1989     George Shultz, U.S. Secretary of State
1990     Burt Reynolds, actor
1993    Tom Landry, Head Coach, Dallas Cowboys
1994    Charley Boswell, armed forces
1996    Eddie Robinson, Head Coach, Grambling St.
1998    George Bush, U.S. President
2001    Andrew Young, United Nations Ambassador
2002    Roger Staubach, businessman, NFL Hall of Famer
2003    Stephen Ambrose, Author and historian
2004    Gen. Tommy Franks, armed forces
2005    Dr. Christopher Kraft, NASA
2007    Paul Tagliabue, NFL Commissioner
2008    Tom Osborne, Head Coach, Nebraska
2009    Rudy Giuliani, former mayor, New York City
2010  Tony Dungy, Head Coach, Indianapolis Colts
2013    Robert Mueller, Director, FBI

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!