AFCA Academic Achievement Award

Derek Mason, Vanderbilt; and David Cutcliffe, Duke

Vanderbilt Head Coach Derek Mason (CL) and Duke Head Coach David Cutcliffe (CR) received the 2015 Academic Achievement Award from members of the Touchdown Club of Memphis, Greg Cotton (R) and Bill Harper (L).

The Academic Achievement Award was originally established by the College Football Association in 1981 and was presented annually by the Touchdown Club of Memphis through 1997. The award recognized the CFA-member FBS institution with the highest graduation rate among members of its football team. The award and honorable mention plaques were presented each year at the CFA’s annual meeting in Dallas. 

With the demise of the CFA, the American Football Coaches Association stepped in to continue to present the award as well as conduct a graduation rate survey similar to the one done each year by the CFA.

The winner of the AFCA Academic Achievement Award, which is still presented by the Touchdown Club of Memphis, is selected using the NCAA’s Graduation Success Rate (GSR) formula.  From 1981 to 2007, the award was presented based on a formula used by the College Football Association and AFCA. Since 2008, the criteria for the AFCA’s Academic Achievement Award is based on the highest NCAA GSR, at least 15 students in the GSR Cohort, and a Federal Graduation Rate of 75 percent or better.

Most Awards: Duke has won or shared the Academic Achievement Award 14 times. Notre Dame is second with nine awards followed by Northwestern with eight awards, Boston College and Vanderbilt with four awards and Stanford with three honors.

Honorable Mention: Notre Dame has the most honorable mention honors with 25. They are followed by Rice and Virginia at 24, Boston College and Penn State with 23 and Syracuse and Vanderbilt with 21. 

For more information on the Touchdown Club of Memphis, please visit their website at

Duke and Vanderbilt Earn 2015 AFCA Academic Achievement Award

2014 AFCA Academic Achievement Award Shared by Duke, Northwestern, Notre Dame and Stanford

Georgia, Rice, Stanford and Tulane Share 2013 AFCA Academic Achievement Award

Northwestern and Stanford Share 2012 AFCA Academic Achievement Award

Boise State and Miami (Ohio) Earn 2011 AFCA Academic Achievement Award


List of Past Academic Achievement Award Winners

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!