Jeff Jordan Selected as 2008 ACCFCA Coach of the Year

Butte (Calif.) College Head Coach Jeff Jordan has been named the 2008 American Community College Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year. The award will be presented to Jordan at the American Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year Dinner on Tuesday, January 13, at the 2009 AFCA Convention in Nashville, Tennessee.

“This is a tremendous honor for a small school in Northern California to receive such a great award,” Jordan said.  “This is a tribute to my staff, and I couldn’t be more excited for my football team. Any time you have a chance to win a championship and finish undefeated, it’s something special. It was a pleasure to coach those players this season. Without those players, my coaching staff and the athletic staff at Butte College, there is no way that I would have been able to achieve this award. This is definitely an honor that we will cherish for a long time.”

Jordan completed his third season as the Butte College head coach, and 11th overall with the program. He has an overall record of 21-12 as the Roadrunners’ head coach. In 2008, Jordan led Butte to a 12-0 mark, the NorCal Conference championship and the program’s first California Community College Athletic Association title. Butte went a perfect 10-0 during the regular season, with a 5-0 mark in conference, and defeated Reedley College in the State Center Bowl on Nov. 22, 24-21, to earn the school’s first appearance in the state championship game. He guided Butte to a 7-4 record in 2007, and a win over San Joaquin Delta in the Stockman Bank Bowl.

Jordan began his coaching career as a defensive assistant at Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo in 1992 after he completed his playing career with the Mustangs. He then spent four years at Chico State from 1993 to 1996, with the last two as defensive coordinator, before moving on to the University of Pittsburgh as a graduate assistant in 1997. Jordan began his association with Butte College in 1998 as the defensive coordinator and secondary coach. From 1999 to 2005, he switched sides of the ball, working as offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach before being named head coach in 2006.

Jordan has been a part of 11 bowl teams during his coaching career. He helped Pittsburgh to the 1997 Liberty Bowl as a graduate assistant, and was a part of eight straight bowl appearances (1998-2005) with Butte as a defensive or offensive coordinator. The Roadrunners appeared in seven straight Tri-Counties Bank Holiday Bowls, from 1998-2004, and appeared in the 2005 US Bank Holiday Bowl.

Jordan has helped develop some great quarterbacks during his stay at Butte, such as Aaron Rodgers (University of California, Green Bay Packers), Brett Ratliff (University of Utah) and Matt Ray (Troy University), among others. He teaches in the Physical Education Department at Butte and has served as the head track and field coach where his teams won seven Golden Valley Conference championships.

About the ACCFCA: Community college football coaches are among the very best in the profession. In recent years, there have been two organizations, the California Community College Football Coaches Association and the National Junior College Football Coaches Association. Each organization had its own coach of the year. In 2000, the AFCA invited the organizations to meet at the AFCA Convention. Three national goals were set: to form a national community college football coaches’ association, to study the possibility of a national championship game between the two organizations and to elect, yearly, a national coach of the year and to have that coach recognized by the AFCA.

Their initial goal, to create an umbrella coaches association, has been accomplished. In 2002, the American Community College Football Coaches Association selected its first national coach of the year, Michael White of Reedley College.  Past winners of the ACCFCA Coach of the Year are: Troy Morrell, Butler Community College, 2003; Tim Hatten, Pearl River Community College, 2004; Don Dillon, American River College, 2005; John Featherstone, El Camino College, 2006 and Jeff Chudy, Bakersfield College, 2007.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!