Bob Jastrab Voted as 2010 ACCFCA Coach of the Year

Mt. San Antonio College Head Coach Bob Jastrab has been named the 2010 American Community College Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year. The award will be presented to Jastrab at the American Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year Dinner on Tuesday, January 11, at the 2011 AFCA Convention in Dallas, Texas.

“I am very honored and humbled to be selected as the American Community College Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year,” Jastrab said. “I want to thank my hard working and dedicated coaches, players and support staff for an unbelievable season. They deserve the credit.”

Jastrab completed his sixth year directing the Mounties program. He guided Mt. SAC to a 13-0 record, the Southern Conference title, a fourth straight Southern California championship and the program’s second consecutive California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA) title. Since being named head coach in 2005, Jastrab has an overall record of 62-13 with a .827 winning percentage with five straight conference championships.

Jastrab has been named Southern California Football Association Coach of the Year each of the last two seasons (2009-10). In 2009, he led Mt. SAC to a 13-1 mark, the Central Conference title, the Southern Califoria championship and the school’s second CCCAA title, the program’s first since 1997. Jastrab led the Mounties to two straight CCCAA runner-up finishes in 2007 and 2008 while winning two conference titles and two Southern California championships. Mt. SAC finished with records of 10-3 and 12-2 in 2007 and 2008, respectively. Since the 2007 season, Jastrab’s overall record is an astonishing 48-6 with four conference and Southern California championships and two state titles.

During his first season as head coach, Jastrab led Mt. SAC to a 5-5 record, but rebounded in 2006 to finish 9-2 with an American Division championship and a victory in the U.S. Bank Bowl.  

Prior to being named head coach in 2005, Jastrab was an assistant at Mt. SAC from 1997-2004. He held a variety of positions, such as associate head coach, offensive coordinator, special teams coordinator and offensive and defensive line coach. When Jastrab returned to Mt. SAC in 1997, he helped lead them to the school’s first CCCAA title and an undefeated season. Jastrab has a been a part of all three of the Mounties CCCAA titles as either a head coach or an assistant.

Jastrab began his coaching career in 1989 as an assistant at Mt. SAC from 1989-92. He then moved on to UNLV in 1993 as a graduate assistant, helping lead the Runnin Rebels to a victory in the 1994 Las Vegas Bowl. Jastrab left UNLV to become the offensive coordinator at Damascus High School in Damascus, Maryland, in 1995. He helped propel them to the Maryland Class 3-A State Championship in 1996.

Jastrab was a defensive lineman at Mt. SAC from 1982-83, earning Community College All-America status. He earned a scholarship to the University of Miami (Fla.), playing two years for the Hurricanes from 1984-85. Jastrab was a part of a Fiesta Bowl and a Sugar Bowl team during those two years.

About the ACCFCA: Community college football coaches are among the very best in the profession. In recent years, there have been two organizations, the California Community College Football Coaches Association and the National Junior College Football Coaches Association. Each organization had its own coach of the year. In 2000, the AFCA invited the organizations to meet at the AFCA Convention. Three national goals were set: to form a national community college football coaches’ association, to study the possibility of a national championship game between the two organizations and to elect, yearly, a national coach of the year and to have that coach recognized by the AFCA.

Their initial goal, to create an umbrella coaches association, has been accomplished. In 2002, the American Community College Football Coaches Association selected its first national coach of the year, Michael White of Reedley College.  Past winners of the ACCFCA Coach of the Year are: Troy Morrell, Butler Community College, 2003; Tim Hatten, Pearl River Community College, 2004; Don Dillon, American River College, 2005; John Featherstone, El Camino College, 2006; Jeff Chudy, Bakersfield College, 2007; Jeff Jordan, Butte College, 2008; and Brad Franchione, Blinn College, 2009.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!