2005 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Joe Paterno’s record 11th award highlights today’s announcement of the American Football Coaches Association’s 2005 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year winners.

“What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves,” AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. “The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis.”
The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s four divisions: I-A, I-AA, Division II (NCAA Division II and NAIA schools) and Division III. The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The Winners: Penn State’s Joe Paterno has earned Division I-A Region 3 honors this year, giving him a record 11th regional/district award in his 40th year as the Nittany Lion head coach. Penn State finished the regular season 10-1 and will meet Florida State in the Orange Bowl.

Bloomsburg’s Danny Hale earned  his eighth Regional Coach of the Year award in Division II Region I this year, the third-highest total in the history of the award.

Joining Paterno as winners in Division I-A are Miami’s (Fla.) Larry Coker (Region 1), Alabama’s Mike Shula (Region 2), Texas’ Mack Brown (Region 4) and USC’s Pete Carroll (Region 5).

In Division I-AA, the winners are New Hampshire’s Sean McDonnell (Region 1); Appalachian State’s Jerry Moore (Region 2); Eastern Illinois’ Bob Spoo (Region 3); Youngstown State’s Jon Heacock (Region 4) and Texas State’s David Bailiff (Region 5).

Joining Hale as winners in Division II are Presbyterian’s Tommy Spangler (Region 2); Washburn’s Craig Schurig (Region 3), Morningside’s Steve Ryan (Region 4) and Minnesota-Duluth’s Kyle Schweigert (Region 5).

In Division III, the winners are Trinity’s (Conn.) Chuck Priore (Region 1); Thiel’s Jack Leipheimer (Region 2); Mary Hardin-Baylor’s Pete Fredenburg (Region 3);  Capital’s Jim Collins (Region 4) and Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Bob Berezowitz (Region 5).

The 2005 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2006 AFCA Convention in Dallas. The dinner is scheduled for January 10.

2005 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Division I-A
Region 1: Larry Coker, University of Miami (Fla.)
Region 2: Mike Shula, University of Alabama
Region 3: Joe Paterno, Pennsylvania State University
Region 4: Mack Brown, University of Texas
Region 5: Pete Carroll, University of Southern California

Division I-AA
Region 1: Sean McDonnell, University of New Hampshire
Region 2: Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University
Region 3: Bob Spoo Eastern Illinois University
Region 4: Jon Heacock, Youngstown State University
Region 5: David Bailiff, Texas State University

Division II (NCAA Division II and NAIA schools)
Region 1: Danny Hale, Bloomsburg University
Region 2: Tommy Spangler, Presbyterian College
Region 3: Craig Schurig, Washburn University
Region 4: Steve Ryan, Morningside College
Region 5: Kyle Schweigert, University of Minnesota-Duluth

Division III (NCAA Division III schools)
Region 1: Chuck Priore, Trinity College (Conn.)
Region 2: Jack Leipheimer, Thiel College
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Region 4: Jim Collins, Capital University
Region 5: Bob Berezowitz, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Repeat Winner: New Hampshire’s Sean McDonnell (second overall) and Trinity’s (Conn.) Chuck Priore (second overall) are the only repeat winners from 2004.

Multiple Winners: Other multiple winners in the 2005 class are Joe Paterno (11th), Mack Brown (second), Pete Carroll (second), Jerry Moore (third), Bob Spoo (third), Danny Hale (eighth), Pete Fredenburg (third), Bob Berezowitz (third).

First Time Schools: Five coaches earned the first AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Award for their school in 2005: Washburn’s Craig Schurig, Morningside’s Steve Ryan, Minnesota-Duluth’s Kyle Schweigert, Thiel’s Jack Leipheimer and Capital’s Jim Collins.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!