2006 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Larry Kehres’ record-tying 11th award and Jim Grobe’s first honor highlights today’s announcement of the American Football Coaches Association’s 2006 Regional Coach of the Year winners.

“What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves,” AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. “The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis.”
The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions: I-A, I-AA, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The Winners: Wake Forest’s Jim Grobe has earned Division I-A Region 1 honors for the first time this year. Grobe led the Demon Deacons to an 11-2 record, the Atlantic Coast Conference title and a berth in the Orange Bowl.

Mount Union’s Larry Kehres is the Division III Region 4 winner this year, the 11th time Kehres has been so honored, tying Penn State’s Joe Paterno for the most District/Regional Coach of the Year Awards.

Bloomsburg’s Danny Hale earned his ninth Regional Coach of the Year award in Division II Region I this year, the third-highest total in the history of the award.

Joining Grobe as winners in Division I-A are Arkansas’ Houston Nutt (Region 2), Michigan’s Lloyd Carr (Region 3), Boise State’s Chris Petersen (Region 4) and BYU’s Bronco Mendenhall (Region 5).

In Division I-AA, the winners are Massachusetts’ Don Brown (Region 1); Appalachian State’s Jerry Moore (Region 2); Tennessee-Martin’s Jason Simpson (Region 3); Youngstown State’s Jon Heacock (Region 4) and Montana’s Bobby Hauck (Region 5).

Joining Hale as winners in Division II are North Alabama’s Mark Hudspeth (Region 2); Northwest Missouri State’s Mel Tjeerdsma (Region 3), Abilene Christian’s Chris Thomsen (Region 4) and Chadron State’s Bill O’Boyle (Region 5).

Joining Kehres in Division III, are Springfield’s Mike DeLong (Region 1); Wilkes’ Frank Sheptock (Region 2); Washington & Lee’s Frank Miriello (Region 3) and Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Bob Berezowitz (Region 5).

For the first time in 2006, the AFCA is selecting Regional winners in the NAIA. The inaugural recipients are Bethel’s (Tenn.) Dino Kaklis (Region 1); St. Ambrose’s Todd Sturdy (Region 2); Missouri Valley’s Paul Troth (Region 3); Sioux Falls’ Kalen DeBoer (Region 4) and Montana State-Northern’s Mark Samson (Region 5).

The 2006 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2007 AFCA Convention in San Antonio. The dinner is scheduled for January 10.

2006 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Division I-A
Region 1: Jim Grobe, Wake Forest University
Region 2: Houston Nutt, University of Arkansas
Region 3: Lloyd Carr, University of Michigan
Region 4: Chris Petersen, Boise State University
Region 5: Bronco Mendenhall, Brigham Young University

Division I-AA
Region 1: Don Brown, University of Massachusetts
Region 2: Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University
Region 3: Jason Simpson, University of Tennesee-Martin
Region 4: Jon Heacock, Youngstown State University
Region 5: Bobby Hauck, University of Montana

Division II
Region 1: Danny Hale, Bloomsburg University
Region 2: Mark Hudspeth, University of North Alabama
Region 3: Mel Tjeerdsma, Northwest Missouri State University
Region 4: Chris Thomsen, Abilene Christian University
Region 5: Bill O’Boyle, Chadron State College

Division III
Region 1: Mike DeLong, Springfield College
Region 2: Frank Sheptock, Wilkes University
Region 3: Frank Miriello, Washington & Lee University
Region 4: Larry Kehres, Mount Union College
Region 5: Bob Berezowitz, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Region 1: Dino Kaklis, Bethel College (Tenn.)
Region 2: Todd Sturdy, St. Ambrose University
Region 3: Paul Troth, Missouri Valley College
Region 4: Kalen DeBoer, University of Sioux Falls
Region 5: Mark Samson, Montana State University-Northern

Repeat Winners: Appalachian State’s Jerry Moore, Youngstown State’s Jon Heacock, Bloomsburg’s Danny Hale and Wisconsin-Whiewater’s Bob Berezowitz are the only repeat winners from 2005.

Multiple Winners: Other multiple winners in the 2006 class are Houston Nutt (fourth), Massachusetts’ Don Brown (third), North Alabama’s Mark Hudspeth (second), Northwest Missouri State’s Mel Tjeerdsma (sixth), Springfielid’s Mike DeLong (fourth) and Mount Union’s Larry Kehres (11th).

First Time Schools: Six coaches earned the first AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Award for their school in 2006: Tennessee-Martin’s Jason Simpson, Chadron State’s Bill O’Boyle, Washington & Lee’s Frank Miriello, Bethel’s (Tenn) Dino Kaklis, St. Ambrose’s Todd Sturdy, Missouri Valley’s Paul Troth and Montana State-Northern’s Mark Samson.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!