2007 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Larry Kehres’ record 12th award and Rich Rodriguez’s second honor highlights today’s announcement of the American Football Coaches Association’s 2007 Regional Coach of the Year winners.

“What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves,” AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. “The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis.”

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The Winners: West Virginia’s Rich Rodriguez and Boston College’s Jeff Jagodzinski tied for Football Bowl Subdivision Region 1 honors this year. Rodriguez led the Mountaineers to a 10-2 record, the Big East championship and a berth in the Fiesta Bowl, while Jagodzinski led the Eagles to a 10-3 record and a trip to the Champs Sports Bowl.

Mount Union’s Larry Kehres is the Division III Region 4 winner this year, the 12th time Kehres has been so honored, moving him into sole possession of first for the most District/Regional Coach of the Year Awards in AFCA history.

California’s (Pa.) John Luckhardt earned his fourth Regional Coach of the Year award, this time in Division II Region I. Luckhardt won his three previous Regional honors in 1987, 1990 and 1992 as the head coach at Washington & Jefferson.

Joining Rodriguez and Jagodzinski as winners in Football Bowl Subdivision are Mississippi State’s Sylvester Croom (Region 2), Illinois’ Ron Zook (Region 3), Kansas’ Mark Mangino (Region 4) and Air Force’s Troy Calhoun (Region 5).

In Football Championship Subdivision, the winners are Richmond’s Dave Clawson and Fordham’s Tom Masella (Region 1-tie); Delaware State’s Al Lavan (Region 2); Eastern Kentucky’s Danny Hope (Region 3); Northern Iowa’s Mark Farley (Region 4) and South Dakota State’s John Stiegelmeier (Region 5).

Joining Luckhardt as winners in Division II are Catawba’s Chip Hester (Region 2); Grand Valley State’s Chuck Martin (Region 3), West Texas A&M’s Don Carthel (Region 4) and Nebraska-Omaha’s Pat Behrns and Chadron State’s Bill O’Boyle (Region 5-tie).

Joining Kehres in Division III, are Middlebury’s Bob Ritter (Region 1); Muhlenberg’s Mike Donnelly (Region 2); Mary Hardin-Baylor’s Pete Fredenburg (Region 3) and Central’s (Iowa) Jeff McMartin (Region 5).

In NAIA, the winners are Bethel’s (Tenn.) Dino Kaklis (Region 1); Ohio Dominican’s Dale Carlson (Region 2); Missouri Valley’s Paul Troth (Region 3); Sioux Falls’ Kalen DeBoer (Region 4) and Carroll’s (Mont.) Mike Van Diest (Region 5).

The 2007 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2008 AFCA Convention in Anaheim, California. The dinner is scheduled for January 9.

2007 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Jeff Jagodzinski, Boston College;
    Rich Rodriguez, West Virginia University (tie)
Region 2: Sylvester Croom, Mississippi State University
Region 3: Ron Zook, University of Illinois
Region 4: Mark Mangino, University of Kansas
Region 5: Troy Calhoun, U.S. Air Force Academy

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Dave Clawson, University of Richmond;
    Tom Masella, Fordham University (tie)
Region 2: Al Lavan, Delaware State University
Region 3: Danny Hope, Eastern Kentucky University
Region 4: Mark Farley, University of Northern Iowa
Region 5: John Stiegelmeier, South Dakota State University

Division II
Region 1: John Luckhardt, California University of Pennsylvania
Region 2: Chip Hester, Catawba College
Region 3: Chuck Martin, Grand Valley State University
Region 4: Don Carthel, West Texas A&M University
Region 5: Pat Behrns, University of Nebraska-Omaha;
    Bill O’Boyle, Chadron State College (tie)

Division III
Region 1: Bob Ritter, Middlebury College
Region 2: Mike Donnelly, Muhlenberg College
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Region 4: Larry Kehres, Mount Union College
Region 5: Jeff McMartin, Central College (Iowa)

Region 1: Dino Kaklis, Bethel College (Tenn.)
Region 2: Dale Carlson, Ohio Dominican University
Region 3: Paul Troth, Missouri Valley College
Region 4: Kalen DeBoer, University of Sioux Falls
Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll College (Mont.)

Repeat Winners: Chadron State’s Bill O’Boyle, Mount Union’s Larry Kehres, Bethel’s (Tenn.) Dino Kaklis, Missouri Valley’s Paul Troth and Sioux Falls’ Kalen DeBoer are the only repeat winners from 2006.

Multiple Winners: Other multiple winners in the 2007 class are West Virginia’s Rich Rodriguez (second), Northern Iowa’s Mark Farley (second), California’s (Pa.) John Luckhardt (fourth), Nebraska-Omaha’s Pat Behrns (second) and Mary Hardin-Baylor’s Pete Fredenburg (fourth).

First Time Schools: Seven coaches earned the first AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Award for their school in 2007: Fordham’s Tom Masella, Delaware State’s Al Lavan, West Texas A&M’s Don Carthel, Middlebury’s Bob Ritter, Muhlenberg’s Mike Donnelly, Ohio Dominican’s Dale Carlson and Carroll’s (Mont.) Mike Van Diest.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!