2009 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

First-time winner Gary Patterson of TCU and 14-time winner Larry Kehres of Mount Union (Ohio) highlight today’s announcement of the American Football Coaches Association’s 2009 Regional Coach of the Year winners.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA.

The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The 2009 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2010 AFCA Convention in Orlando, Fla. The dinner is scheduled for January 12.

2009 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Brian Kelly, University of Cincinnati*
Region 2: Nick Saban, University of Alabama
Region 3: Kirk Ferentz, University of Iowa
Region 4: Mack Brown, University of Texas
Region 5: Gary Patterson, TCU

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Andy Talley, Villanova University*
Region 2: Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University*
Region 3: Henry Frazier, Prairie View A&M University*
Region 4: Dale Lennon, Southern Illinois University*
Region 5: Bobby Hauck, University of Montana

Division II
Region 1: Rocky Rees, Shippensburg University
Region 2: Steve Mullins, Arkansas Tech University
Region 3: Keith Otterbein, Hillsdale College
Region 4: Sam McElroy, Tarleton State University
Region 5: Blaine Bennett, Central Washington University

Division III
Region 1: E.J. Mills, Amherst College
Region 2: Joe Fincham, Wittenberg University
Region 3: Norman Joseph, Mississippi College
Region 4: Larry Kehres, Mount Union College* &
        Norm Eash, Illinois Wesleyan University (tie)
Region 5: Steve Staker, Coe College

Region 1: Hugh Freeze, Lambuth University
Region 2: Mike Feminis, St. Xavier University &
        Ron Korfmacher, Taylor University (tie)
Region 3: Kent Kessinger, Ottawa University
Region 4: Kalen DeBoer, University of Sioux Falls
Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll College (Mont.)*

*-2008 winner

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!