2010 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

First-time winner Gene Chizik of Auburn and four-time winner Mike Van Diest of Carroll (Mont.) College highlight today’s announcement of the American Football Coaches Association’s 2010 Regional Coach of the Year winners.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The 2010 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2011 AFCA Convention in Dallas, Texas. The dinner is scheduled for Tuesday, January 11.

In just his second year as head coach, Chizik has guided Auburn to a 13-0 record, a No. 1 ranking in the BCS standings and a spot in the BCS National Championship game. Van Diest earned his fourth-straight Regional Coach of the Year Award by leading Carroll (Mont.) to a 13-0 record, the Frontier Conference title and an appearance in the NAIA National Championship Game. Carroll is seeking its sixth national title since 2002 under Van Diest.

2010 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Doug Marrone, Syracuse University
Region 2: Gene Chizik, Auburn University
Region 3: Mark Dantonio, Michigan State University
Region 4: Art Briles, Baylor University
Region 5: Chip Kelly, University of Oregon &
    Jim Harbaugh, Stanford University (tie)

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Jimmye Laycock, College of William & Mary
Region 2: Brian Jenkins, Bethune-Cookman University
Region 3: Tony Samuel, Southeast Missouri State University
Region 4: Trent Miles, Indiana State University
Region 5: J.C. Harper, Stephen F. Austin State University

Division II
Region 1: Raymond Monica, Kutztown University
Region 2: David Dean, Valdosta State University
Region 3: Paul Winters, Wayne State University (Mich.)
Region 4: Bo Atterberry, Texas A&M University-Kingsville
Region 5: Mike Aldrich, Augustana College (S.D.)

Division III
Region 1: Clayton Kendrick-Holmes, SUNY Maritime College
Region 2: Jim Clements, Delaware Valley College
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Region 4: Mike Leonard, Franklin College &
    Larry Kehres, University of Mount Union* (tie)
Region 5: Glenn Caruso, University of St. Thomas (Minn.)

Region 1: Dewayne Alexander, Cumberland University (Tenn.)
Region 2: Todd Hafner, William Penn University
Region 3: Joe Bettasso, McPherson College &
    Jonathan Quinn, MidAmerica Nazarene University (tie)
Region 4: Casey Thiele, Midland University
Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll College (Mont.)*

*-2009 winner

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!